Ideas for Identity Lightbox

Here are a few of my ideas for my identity lightbox.  These are photos of some pages from my sketchbook.  (Please excuse the bad quality- I’m still figuring out how to do things on my new computer.)

IMG_9070

IMG_9069

IMG_9068

I’ve realized that Identity is something that is showing up in my other work as well.  I don’t want to steal/ borrow something from that for the assignment, as that seems a bit cheap.  However, here’s an example of something I’ve been playing with, this idea of mask/ intertior/exterior/ “Putting on a Face.”  The mask is this giant Cheshire-cat kind of smile, over exaggerated and fake.

IMG_9062

For the project, I think I’m interested in doing something with my compulsion of collecting and cataloguing- maybe something using an image of kind of talisman of trinkets that I’ve been making for a long time and keep adding bits to.  It functions a bit as a personal memory bank of my life.

Leave a comment