Challenges with my Lightbox Project

I’ve been working with an image for my lightbox project, a kind of self portrait, a few photos I took that I stitched together in photoshop.  I was planning on doing a sort of anthropological annotation in my own writing right on the image, but as I’m working, I’m realizing that as I’m doing it, it is complicating the image.  Quite honestly, it isn’t working out visually.  This is the image, and an example of playing with the text, although I’m nowhere near where what I was intending with it (i.e., not finished in that intention).  You can probably see why I’m not happy with it.  It’s too busy/ getting harder to read, not as strong visually, etc.

Lightbox-test 1- blog

I think, that to do what I’m intending with this work, I would have to make it quite a bit bigger than what our project constraints would allow.  This would all me more room for the text, and to make it smaller in relation to the image.  But maybe there’s a better way to do it that will fit the project parameters.

So, how to fix it.  Simplify.  Simplify?

Lightbox-Talisman

I’m concerned that this one is too simple.  It seems counter to my nature, although I realize that my personality likes to throw way more in there than I actually need.  Actually, a big discussion in my studio visits last week (was that last week?) was about not giving away all of the mystery, not answering all of the questions. More is not always better.  But does it hit the mark?

By putting in the title, I think I am connecting the object back to myself, and giving it just a little bit of context, although it might not be enough.  I don’t know if this is fully necessary either, however.  Hmm.

The other option I was thinking about is possibly adding writing to the surface below the image.  But then, what am I writing, and what is the point of it?  Will it be the same kind of text or something else?  How do I rectify that, both conceptually, and visually?

Stay tuned.

Also of note here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talisman

Leave a comment